Film Group

Elaine

Elaine

Head of Film Group

Our Film Group meets every week through school term and we would love to welcome you to our friendly bunch of movie lovers. 

Have a chat with some serious – and not-so-serious – film discussions and enjoy a coffee in the surrounds of beautiful Avoca Beach; we’d love to have you join us.

Our group is overseen be Award-winning Photographer Elaine Odgers Norling who has been the facilitator of the Avoca Film Group Elaine since 2005.  Her interest in film started in childhood with the Bette Davis films her mother loved so much and in the late 1950s’ she was introduced to a broad range of alternate  films through the Sydney University Film Society.

In the 1960’s she was part of a small team that chose films for the Sydney Film Festival  bringing foreign and small production films to the BIG screen.  She has continued being very active in the film world and will happily tell you that she saw over 200 films at Avoca last year!

Our Film Group meets every week through school term and we would love to welcome you to our friendly bunch of movie lovers. 

Have a chat with some serious – and not-so-serious – film discussions and enjoy a coffee in the surrounds of beautiful Avoca Beach; we’d love to have you join us.

Our group is overseen be Award-winning Photographer Elaine Odgers Norling who has been the facilitator of the Avoca Film Group Elaine since 2005.  Her interest in film started in childhood with the Bette Davis films her mother loved so much and in the late 1950s’ she was introduced to a broad range of alternate  films through the Sydney University Film Society.

In the 1960’s she was part of a small team that chose films for the Sydney Film Festival  bringing foreign and small production films to the BIG screen.  She has continued being very active in the film world and will happily tell you that she saw over 200 films at Avoca last year!

Wednesday sessions

Wed 21st Aug (9:30am) – LATE NIGHT
Wed 28th Aug – WHO YOU THINK I AM
Wed 4th Sept – AMAZING GRACE
Wed 11th Sept – ANGEL OF MINE
Wed 18th Sept (9:30am) – DOWNTON ABBEY
Wed 25th Sept – THE FAREWELL
Wed 2nd Oct – THE GOLDFINCH
Wed 9th Oct – RIDE LIKE A GIRL
Wed 16th Oct (9:30am) – JUDY

Thursday sessions

Thurs 22nd Aug – WHO YOU THINK I AM
Thurs 29th Aug – AMAZING GRACE

Thurs 5th Sept – ANGEL OF MINE
Thurs 12th Sept – DOWNTON ABBEY
Thurs 19th 25th Sept – THE FAREWELL
Thurs 26th Sept – THE GOLDFINCH
Thurs 3rd Oct – RIDE LIKE A GIRL
Thurs 10th Oct – JUDY

Have any questions about film group?